top of page
Wix_edited.jpg
Search

The Prince (Machiavelli): Thoughts

Updated: Feb 12, 2021

So, I have finished reading Niccolo Machiavelli's renowned work The Prince. I had expected one of two things coming into this work: either that Machiavelli would call for maß genocide and absolute tyranny (I call this the Black Book of Machiavellianism view), or that it would be an unuseful blueprint centred firmly in his contemporary circumstances for the Medici Court. I have come out of this reading with a feeling of education. I feel that, not only do I understand a little more of the history going on which he references, but also that I have gained something in the kennage of statecraft generally. I will say, one of the most exciting parts of Machiavelli's writing for me were indeed his discußions of the recent politics and diplomacy happening, for at times I felt as if I were reading about someone's playthrough of Europa Universalis IV (a grand strategy, nation-building video game by Paradox Interactive). Hearing of Louis' attempt to extend the Big Blue Blob into to Italy was fascinating!. Machiavelli is undoubtedly a master of statelineß and is the one to understand the internal workings of the political realm

However, I must admit that my reading was not quite serious, and had to be sped up in moments. I do believe a return to this tome is in order for the future.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page